It’s Hell in the Hallway

Some may call it a turning point, or a crossroad, but whatever you call it I’m there. That’s right, I find myself looking for what direction to take with my professional life. It’s not that I don’t have options, for which I’m certainly grateful, it’s just there’s this uncomfortable feeling about the whole thing. Maybe it’s that I’ve been here before.

A woman I both admire and adore (who, by happy coincidence, is also my mother) observed that when a person is between points in their life, looking for direction, it can be helpful to recall the saying “when one door closes, another opens”. However, what people may or may not count on is that time between.

I’m referring to the hallway time of our life. That’s the time we see flashes of what we could maybe do, maybe not, missed and messed up opportunities, and overall a barrage of emotional memories and thoughts. It’s not a pretty sight, let me tell you.

To make matters worse, it’s like the only way to get through is pick a door because the hallway is brutal. Which begs the question: does it matter which door you pick?

I have to think it does. Maybe I’m idealistic or unrealistic or maybe I just haven’t spent enough time in the hallway. All I know is I’m going to try a few doors, preferably ones with windows, before deciding. I’m taking my time, living with my indecision, and embracing the hell that is the hallway.

To be continued…

 

Leave a Reply

